top of page


Updated: Feb 29, 2020

Lower astral dreaming occurs on three planes in the 1st and 2nd chakras. It is the undeveloped emotional body of the earth. Dreams in the lower astral world consist of sentient desire, procreation and gross matter. One learns about their emotions in the lower astral world, the difference between right and wrong, the prodigal son, ancestral images and other gods.

1st Astral Plane (The Nether World) – is the Astral jungle which contains the sub-elemental kingdom, discarnate spirits, earthbound spirits and transient entities. The level of observation and participation on the 1st Astral Plane reveals the degree of one’s evolvement.

Examples of 1st Astral Plane Symbols: Dreams of deep black, black and white dreams, astral figures, astral prisons, amoral sexual acts, cemeteries, the underworld, etc.

2nd Astral Plane (The Chimera and Bardo Levels) – pertains to the undisciplined emotional body which is magnified by the senses. The level of observation and participation on the 2nd Astral Plane reveals a particular phase of development and its purpose.

Examples of 2nd Astral Plane Symbols: Domestic dream symbols which may include subjects such as sex, love, health, birth or death. (Note: It is important to not intellectualize the symbols.)

3rd Astral Plane (Phenomena, Illusion & Desire Levels) – pertains to the undeveloped emotional body. The level of observation and participation on the 3rd Astral Plane reveals a basic theme or thread of instruction, discipline and guidance.

Examples of 3rd Astral Plane Symbols: Premonition dreams of potential realities; dreams of children or adolescence, policeman, family symbols, birds flying.

Colton, Ann Ree, The Archetypal Kingdom. Ann Ree Colton Foundation 1988.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page